UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN
SOUTHERN DIVISION
BOWLERS’ ALLEY, INC.,
Plaintiff, Case Number 13-13804
v. Honorable David M. Lawson
THE CINCINNATI INSURANCE
COMPANY,
Defendant.
______________________________/
OPINION AND ORDER ON DAMAGES ISSUES
During the initial and recent pretrial conferences in this insurance contract dispute, the
parties posed questions to the Court on several issues not addressed in their previous dispositive
motions or motions in limine. Per the Court’s direction, they have raised two of them in their trial
briefs, so the Court can issue rulings on those questions before trial, in order to clarify the scope of
the parties’ presentations on certain aspects of the plaintiff’s claims for damages.
The two issues are (1) whether the plaintiff would be entitled to penalty interest on the full
amount of the replacement cost for its bowling lanes under the Michigan Uniform Trade Practices
Act, Mich. Comp. Laws § 500.2006, if the plaintiff prevails on its underlying claim for those
damages; and (2) whether the plaintiff is entitled to recover the full amount of the actual cost to
repair or replace its lanes when, eventually, it completes the repair or replacement, or whether its
recovery would be limited to the cost of repair or replacement estimated at the time of the loss, as
stated in the plaintiff’s sworn proof of loss. The defendant contends that it cannot be accountable
for penalty interest for a late payment when it has no obligation to pay until the replacement has
occurred (thereby establishing the amount of the loss), and that event has not happened yet. But the
defendant also insists that the damage was complete and its obligation fixed on the date of the loss,
so the subsequent rise in replacement costs is irrelevant to the plaintiff’s claim. Those positions are
inconsistent. Either the damages were fixed, in which case the penalty interest statute is in play, or
the damages have not been finalized, in which case there can be no penalty interest and the amount
owed is the actual expense to repair, capped by the insurance policy limits. Based on the contract
language and the prevailing law, the better view is that the plaintiff is entitled to the actual cost to
replace its damaged property “with other property . . . [o]f comparable material and quality” at the
time the replacement is made, and that the plaintiff is not entitled to penalty interest under Mich.
Comp. Laws § 500.2006, unless payment thereafter is delayed for the statutory period.
I. Background
As noted in previous opinions issued in this case, the plaintiff purchased “replacement cost”
coverage as part of its hazard insurance policy with the defendant, Cincinnati Insurance Company.
The plaintiff contends that a flood at its bowling alley in May 2012 damaged a number of wooden
bowling lane surfaces. On April 4, 2013, Cincinnati sent the plaintiff a request for a proof of loss.
Bowler’s Alley requested and Cincinnati granted an extension of time to complete the proof of loss.
On June 18, 2013, the plaintiff submitted a sworn “interim” statement of proof of loss with a $2.6
million price tag, which Cincinnati rejected on July 17, 2013. The present dispute over the cost of
addressing the damage to the wooden bowling lanes focuses on whether the defendant may satisfy
its obligation under the policy by covering the wooden lanes with synthetic overlays. The plaintiff
insists that the defendant must pay for replacing all the lanes with similar wooden lanes.
The replacement cost endorsement, Section F(3), states that:
c. You may make a claim for “loss” covered by this insurance on an “Actual
Cash Value” basis instead of on a replacement cost basis. In the event you
elect to have [a] “loss” settled on an “Actual Cash Value” basis, you may still
-2-
make a claim for the additional coverage this Optional Coverage provides if
you notify us of your intent to do so within 180 days after the “loss”.
d. We will not pay on a replacement cost basis for any “loss”:
(1) Until the lost or damaged property is actually repaired or replaced
with other property of generally the same construction and used for
the same purpose as the lost or damaged property; and
(2) Unless the repairs or replacement have been completed or [are] at
least underway within 2 years following the date of “loss”.
e. We will not pay more for “loss” on a replacement cost basis than the least of:
(1) The Limit of Insurance applicable to the lost or damaged property;
(2) The cost to replace, on the same “premises”, the lost or damaged
property with other property:
(a) Of comparable material and quality; and
(b) Used for the same purpose; or
(3) The amount you actually spend that is necessary to repair or replace
the lost or damaged property.
Cincinnati Insurance has argued that the plaintiff is barred from pursuing its claim for the
full replacement cost of its damaged wood bowling lanes because it failed to begin or complete
repairs of its lanes within the two-year time limit under the policy. The Court rejected that argument
in an earlier ruling, citing Smith v. Michigan Basic Prop. Ins. Ass’n, 441 Mich. 181, 190-91, 490
N.W.2d 864, 867-68 (1992), in which the court held that a policy clause conditioning the payment
of replacement cost benefits on the completion of repairs is not an obstacle to entry of judgment in
favor of the plaintiffs who, for obvious economic reasons, had not yet commenced repairs when they
filed suit over the coverage dispute. The court stated that the insureds could obtain replacement
costs if they commenced repairs within a reasonable time after a favorable judgment was entered.
Although Cincinnati Insurance made a cash payment of more than $600,000 based on early
estimates that called for resurfacing the damaged alleys with synthetic overlays, the plaintiff
apparently has not commenced any repairs and likely has no intention of doing so until it learns of
the outcome of this lawsuit. And not surprisingly, the plaintiff asserts that costs to complete the
repairs have risen since May 2012. The plaintiff contends that Cincinnati Insurance should have
-3-
paid for wooden lanes at the outset, and the delay in payment triggers the penalty interest statute.
Cincinnati Insurance argues that the plaintiff should have undertaken repairs long ago, and whatever
the jury determines is replacement property “of comparable material and quality,” it cannot be
accountable for the increase in repair costs over the life of this dispute.
II. Penalty Interest
The Michigan Uniform Trade Practices Act (UTPA) provides for the assessment of interest
against an insurer that fails timely to pay a claim within 60 days after submission of a satisfactory
proof of loss:
(1) A person must pay on a timely basis to its insured . . . the benefits provided
under the terms of its policy, or, in the alternative, the person must pay to its
insured . . . 12% interest, as provided in subsection (4), on claims not paid on
a timely basis.
...
(4) If benefits are not paid on a timely basis the benefits paid shall bear simple
interest from a date 60 days after satisfactory proof of loss was received by
the insurer at the rate of 12% per annum, if the claimant is the insured. . . .
The interest shall be paid in addition to and at the time of payment of the
loss. If the loss exceeds the limits of insurance coverage available, interest
shall be payable based upon the limits of insurance coverage rather than the
amount of the loss.
Mich. Comp. Laws § 500.2006. “The statute is intended to provide a penalty to be assessed against
recalcitrant insurers who procrastinate or are dilatory in paying meritorious claims in bad faith.”
McCahill v. Commercial Union Ins. Co., 179 Mich. App. 761, 779, 446 N.W.2d 579, 587 (1989)
(citing Commercial Union Ins. Co. v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 426 Mich. 127, 136 n.5, 393 N.W.2d
161, 164 n.5 (1986); Medley v. Canady, 126 Mich. App. 739, 743, 337 N.W.2d 909, 911 (1983)).
“Unlike the 6% judgment interest provision of M.C.L. § 600.6013, [the penalty interest provision
under the UTPA] evinces no intent to compensate a plaintiff for the delay in recovering funds
rightfully his.” Medley, 126 Mich. App. at 743-44, 337 N.W.2d at 911. And “the claimant is
-4-
entitled to 12 percent interest, irrespective of whether the claim is reasonably in dispute.” Griswold
Properties, L.L.C. v. Lexington Ins. Co., 276 Mich. App. 551, 566, 741 N.W.2d 549, 557 (2007)
(quotations omitted). But “[a]s a penalty, the statute is to be strictly construed.” Medley, 126 Mich.
App. at 744, 337 N.W.2d at 911.
The plaintiff has not identified a Michigan case allowing an award of penalty interest on
replacement cost benefits paid to a plaintiff, where the plaintiff did not complete repairs as required
under the policy until after entry of judgment in its favor following a coverage dispute with the
insurer. Instead, in support of its claim for penalty interest, the plaintiff cites principally Pollock v.
Fire Ins. Exch., 167 Mich. App. 415, 423 N.W.2d 234 (1988), in which the Michigan Court of
Appeals affirmed a judgment awarding prejudgment interest to the plaintiff and excusing the
plaintiff from performance of the repair completion provision of the policy before collecting on her
judgment for the full cost of repairs. The Pollock court explained its reasoning as follows:
[D]efendant’s failure to pay on the claim hindered, and quite possibly even
prevented, plaintiff from complying with her obligation to repair or replace the
building. Had defendant immediately paid in good faith the actual cash value of the
loss, holding the additional amount due under the replacement cost provision in
reserve until the replacement was made or contracted for, or had otherwise worked
with plaintiff to insure her financial ability to immediately proceed with the
replacement or repair, a different result might be called for. However, defendant did
not work with plaintiff to promptly pay the claim and enable her to repair or replace
the building; rather, it did as much as possible to hinder plaintiff and delay or prevent
the payment of the claim. We will not now allow defendant to raise as a defense
plaintiff’s failure to perform an act which defendant itself greatly hindered plaintiff
from performing.
Pollock, 167 Mich. App. at 422, 423 N.W.2d at 237. However, as the defendant correctly points out,
Pollock did not consider any claim for penalty interest under the UTPA, and the court there held
only that the plaintiff was entitled to collect prejudgment interest, which is expressly allowed by a
separate Michigan statute, Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.6013.
-5-
The defendant relies principally on Dupree v. Auto-Owners Ins. Co., 497 Mich. 1, 857
N.W.2d 247 (2014), a case in which an appraisal panel had assessed both the replacement cost and
actual cash value of the plaintiff’s property, but in its ruling only expressly had awarded her the
ACV amount. The defendant insurer paid out on the ACV award, but refused to issue payment for
the replacement cost value, because the plaintiff never submitted proof that she had completed
repairs to her property, as the replacement cost provision of the policy required. The court observed
that “[t]he issue here pertains to a condition precedent that has not been met under the terms of the
insurance policy, namely, submission of proof of actual loss,” Dupree, 497 Mich. at 6, 857 N.W.2d
at 249 (emphasis in original), and it held that “[b]ecause the appraisal award cannot be read as a
‘conclusive’ judgment for replacement cost, the terms of the replacement cost provision under the
insurance policy control the scope of plaintiff’s appraisal award. Consequently, plaintiff’s failure
to submit proof of actual loss in accordance with that provision entitles her to only the actual cash
value of her damaged personal property,” ibid., 857 N.W.2d at 249-50.
Dupree did not consider — or even mention — the insured’s entitlement to penalty interest,
but other decisions on point have held that the penalty interest statute cannot be triggered until the
insurer is obligated to pay; and under typical replacement cost provisions, that does not occur until
repair work has been completed. Helsel v. Farm Bureau Gen. Ins. Co., No. 276749, 2008 WL
2357546, at *5 (Mich. Ct. App. June 10, 2008) (“Because defendant was not required to pay the
replacement cost to plaintiffs before the actual replacement of the dwelling, there was no delay in
payment, and therefore the 12 percent penalty interest associated with the replacement cost should
not have been imposed by the trial court.”); see also Cincinnati Ins. Co. v. Vemulapalli, No. 309980,
2013 WL 3942548, at *2 (Mich. Ct. App. July 30, 2013) (“We note that, in any event, a proof of loss
-6-
could not have been submitted until after this Court’s remand on December 6, 2002, because any
liability had not triggered yet because defendant had yet to replace the fire alarm system.”)
(remanding for consideration of whether the requirement that the insured submit a satisfactory proof
of loss was excused under Mich. Comp. Laws § 500.2006(3) by the failure of the insurer promptly
to provide notice of what materials would constitute a satisfactory proof of loss).
Other Michigan decisions have held that where the insurer did not entirely refuse to pay the
insured’s claim, but instead made significant ACV payments that the insured did not make any effort
to spend on repairs, the reasoning of Pollock does not apply:
We [] note that the insurance compan[y] in [] Pollock initially denied the plaintiffs’
claims, and refused to pay anything to the insured. Based upon the record, we are
unconvinced that [the insurer’s] notification that the co-insurance provision would
apply to a replacement cost claim by plaintiff actually hindered plaintiff’s ability to
replace the property. The record shows that plaintiff’s inquiries into whether it could
obtain financing for the building’s reconstruction were meager, and that no loan
applications regarding any financing were ever completed. In addition, plaintiff’s
president signed a “Sworn Statement of Loss” that indicated his agreement that the
building’s actual cash value was $5,338,000, and that plaintiff spent nearly all of its
actual cash value payment, instead of using it for the building’s reconstruction.
AMVD Ctr., Inc. v. Crum & Forster Ins., No. 252467, 2005 WL 1524517, at *3 (Mich. Ct. App.
June 28, 2005). That reasoning is persuasive here, where it is undisputed that the insurer promptly
paid out the actual cash value of the initial estimate for a repair using synthetic overlays, albeit based
on a total cost of repair that the plaintiff contends was less than one-third the cost to construct new
wood lanes that would satisfy the “comparable material and quality” provision of the policy. The
penalty interest statute is not triggered until the amount of the replacement cost is established and
the claim is not paid “60 days after satisfactory proof of loss was received by the insurer.” Mich.
Comp. Laws § 500.2006(4).
-7-
III. Replacement Cost Valuation
Cincinnati Insurance contends that it cannot be responsible for the increase in construction
costs for replacing the damaged property because the loss under the policy is fixed at the time of the
loss itself. The defendant correctly points out that, in a narrow line of decisions, “Michigan courts
have held that the amount due from an insurer is fixed as of the date of the [loss].” J.C. Wyckoff &
Associates v. Standard Fire Ins. Co., 936 F.2d 1474, 1490 (6th Cir. 1991); Pink v. Smith, 281 Mich.
107, 113, 274 N.W. 727, 730 (1937) (“The time of the fire and of the loss established the rights of
the parties, and in the absence of an election by the company to repair, the amount of the loss
payable to the mortgagee became fixed as of that time.”); Kass v. Wolf, 212 Mich. App. 600, 605,
538 N.W.2d 77, 79 (1995) (“Generally, the rights of insured parties are fixed at the time of the
loss.”) (citing Booker T. Theatre Co. v. Great American Ins. Co. of New York, 369 Mich. 583, 120
N.W.2d 776 (1963); Root v. Republic Ins. Co., 82 Mich. App. 446, 266 N.W.2d 842 (1978)).
However, all of those decisions involved claims by various parties and counter-parties to
mortgages or land contracts on real property, where the insurer had paid out the assessed value of
the loss to the property as of the date of the loss, without regard to any ensuing transactions affecting
the value of either the property or the debt. As the Kass court explained, where a policy of insurance
provides for payment solely to a mortgagee to cover its interest in a mortgaged property, “[t]he
nature of the interests [is] defined in the mortgage and land contract agreements, but the extent of
the interests [is] determined at the date of loss.” Kass, 212 Mich. App. at 605, 538 N.W.2d at 79.
The Pink court held that the plaintiff mortgagee was entitled to the full amount of payments made
by the insurer to it based on the value of the loss, and the fact that the mortgagor had completed
repairs on its own, without consulting the mortgagee, was immaterial to the allotment of any such
-8-
payments. The Kass court held that the mortgagee was not entitled to collect from the insurer the
value of any interest that accrued on the mortgage debt after the date of loss, because the amount
of loss was fixed as the amount of debt outstanding at the time of the loss.
None of those cases address the present situation, however, where an insurer is not obligated
to pay the cost of replacing damaged property until after the repair or replacement actually occurs.
And the cases certainly do not contemplate liability for costs that are significantly higher than the
originally estimated cost of repair claimed by the insured, where the increase is due to a delay of
years in accomplishing the repairs, caused by the insurer’s refusal to approve payment of the full
proposed replacement cost, during the extended litigation of the parties’ coverage dispute. Neither
party has cited such a case, and the Court has found none.
But when determining the obligation of a party under a contract, the first objective is to
“honor the intent of the parties,” Rasheed v. Chrysler Corp., 445 Mich. 109, 127 n.28, 517 N.W.2d
19, 29 n.28 (1994), and the prime source of that intent is the plain language of the agreement, Wilkie
v. Auto-Owners Ins. Co., 469 Mich. 41, 61, 664 N.W.2d 776, 787 (2003) (“Well-settled principles
of contract interpretation require one to first look to a contract’s plain language.”). The plain
language of the policy expressly states that the insurer will pay, under the optional “replacement
cost” coverage provision, “[t]he amount you actually spend that is necessary to repair or replace
the lost or damaged property” (capped by the policy limits), or “[t]he cost to replace, on the same
‘premises’, the lost or damaged property with other property (a) [o]f comparable material and
quality; and (b) [u]sed for the same purpose.” Contrast that language with the ACV provision of
Section D(7)(a), which states that the insurer “will determine the value of Covered Property in the
event of ‘loss’ as . . . ‘Actual Cash Value’ as of the time of ‘loss.’” Unlike the ACV provision, the
-9-
replacement cost provision does not peg its value assessment to the time of the loss; instead, it
expressly states that the insurer “will not pay on a replacement cost basis for any ‘loss’ [u]ntil the
lost or damaged property is actually repaired or replaced with other property of generally the same
construction and used for the same purpose as the lost or damaged property.”
The plain language of the policy states that the valuation of a loss payable under the
replacement cost provision depends on the actual amount expended to complete a repair or
replacement. That amount by definition cannot be known until such sums are expended and repairs
completed, whenever that may be.
The Court has held already that the plaintiff could not reasonably undertake to begin a repair
project with an estimated cost of more than $1.1 million — now purported by the plaintiff to be even
higher due to inevitable increases in the cost of labor and materials over the span of years since the
loss occurred — in the face of the insurer’s insistence that it would pay, in total, less than one-third
of the proposed cost of the work in question. If it turns out that the repairs originally authorized by
the insurer are sufficient in fact to qualify as being of “comparable material and quality” to the more
expensive option desired by the plaintiff, then the defendant will be obligated to pay, at most, no
more than the amount for such repairs that it authorized at the time of the loss (i.e., the full cost of
the original repair estimate based on synthetic lane overlays, which the insurer approved, and on
which it based its previous actual cash value payout calculations). If, however, the jury finds that
the insurer’s conception of “comparable material and quality” and its proposed method of repair do
not sufficiently address its obligations under the policy, then the defendant will be obligated to pay
those amounts reasonably necessary and actually expended to remedy the loss to those of the
plaintiff’s lanes that suffered actual physical damage from the 2012 water event, by such means as
-10-
the jury may determine that do satisfy the policy, as and when the plaintiff may complete such work
within a reasonable time after entry of judgment allowed by the Court.
The defendant contends that most or all of the purported increase in the plaintiff’s recently
obtained estimates for lane replacement work is not due to rises in the cost of labor and materials
for the originally proposed work, but instead reflects an enlargement of the scope of the work due
to catastrophic damage to the plaintiff’s wood lanes caused by a February 2014 flood. If the
plaintiff’s proofs establish that the present cost of the originally proposed scope of work — the work
necessary to remedy the loss due to physical damage resulting solely from the 2012 flood — has
increased due to the lapse of years since the loss, then it may claim the full amount that it actually
eventually may spend to complete the work necessary to remedy the original scope of loss and to
satisfy the “comparable material and quality” term of the policy. However, as the Court previously
has held, the plaintiff may not proceed on any claims stemming from damage to its property due to
the February 2014 flood. If the defendant can show that any part of the plaintiff’s claimed repair
cost is premised on an enlargement of the scope of work occasioned by damage that occurred after
the 2012 covered loss, then the plaintiff may not recover that amount.
IV. Other Issues
The defendant raised four other requests for pretrial rulings in its trial brief seeking to further
“narrow the issues” at trial. The defendant contends that (1) if the jury finds that the defendant did
not breach the policy, then the policy must be enforced in its entirety, including the two-year repair
window provision (effectively precluding the plaintiff from submitting any future claim for its full
replacement cost); (2) if the jury finds that the plaintiff breached its duties under the policy by filing
suit before submitting an estimate for repair of its damaged front main counter or high and low
-11-
voltage wiring, then it may not recover any amount for those line items in its proof of loss; (3) in
order to recover any damages for mold remediation, the plaintiff must prove that there was mold
under the lanes and any costs actually incurred to remediate it; and (4) because the sole dispositive
question remaining for trial is whether the defendant breached the written contract of insurance,
which comprised the entire agreement between the parties, the plaintiff should be precluded from
offering at trial any “educational materials” or “claims handling guidelines” and should not be
allowed to introduce any argument or evidence regarding alleged “bad faith” conduct by the
defendant in processing the plaintiff’s claim.
The plaintiff correctly points out that those issues are beyond the scope of the briefing that
the Court directed. Moreover, the first three added issues are untimely attempts by the defendant
to seek partial summary judgment on questions that it could have raised earlier, but did not. If the
defendant desires to seek judgment as a matter of law on those items, it should attempt to do so by
making an appropriate motion under Rule 50. The fourth issue already has been addressed by the
Court’s ruling on the defendant’s motions in limine on the same topics [dkt. #130, 133]. The Court
denied the first motion regarding bad faith conduct, and it denied the second motion without
prejudice, advising the parties that they “may raise at trial any objections to specific questions asked
or items offered in evidence as they are presented.” Order [dkt. #206].
V. Conclusion
It is ORDERED that the plaintiff may not seek or obtain penalty interest under the Michigan
Uniform Trade Practices Act, Mich. Comp. Laws § 500.2006, for the unpaid replacement costs of
any property that it has not yet repaired or replaced.
-12-
It is further ORDERED that, upon proper proof, the plaintiff may seek recovery of the actual
costs for replacing its damaged property with other property of comparable material and quality,
subject to the previous rulings of this Court.
s/David M. Lawson
DAVID M. LAWSON
United States District Judge
Dated: August 11, 2015
PROOF OF SERVICE
The undersigned certifies that a copy of the foregoing order was served
upon each attorney or party of record herein by electronic means or first
class U.S. mail on August 11, 2015.
s/Susan Pinkowski
SUSAN PINKOWSKI
-13-